Skip to main content

CONTINUOUS CONTROL® Acne Cleanser

CONTINUOUS CONTROL® Acne Cleanser

Keeps working on breakouts so you don’t have to

1 2 3 4 5 4.30 of 5

Breakdown

1
52
2
17
3
11
4
32
5
332
BV Product Reviews (444 reviews across all languages)
1 2 3 4 5
444 reviews 366 out of 444 (82%) recommend this product Write a review

Average Ratings

Overall
1 2 3 4 5
4.3
1 - 8 of 449 Reviews
  • Filter
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
4 days 8 hours ago

Allergic reaction!

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: Daily Pimple prevention
Age: 25-34
State: Arizona
SkinType: Normal/Combination
Review Text: 
I have used this face wash for almost a decade, it was my go to, and I always suggested to all my friends. The new formula gave me a horrible allergic reaction, my eyes swelled up and my face felt like it was burning. I am so disappointed and Clean and Clear should have made it known that they were changing the ingredients. I wish I could upload the picture of what this "reformulated" face wash did to my face. Please don't buy this and let this happen to you.
Nickname: 
Location: 
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Clean & Clear, Consumer Center 4 days 40 min ago
Hello, Thank you for being such a loyal consumer. We were surprise to hear that you had an allergic reaction after using our CONTINUOUS CONTROL® Acne Cleanser . We’d like to learn more about your experience. Please give us a call at: 1-877-754-6411.We’re available Monday to Friday form 9 AM to 7 PM. We hope to hear back fro you soon!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
3 weeks 1 day ago

New Formula Is Intolerable!

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: The Max strength stuff
Age: 18-24
State: Washington
SkinType: Normal/Combination
Review Text: 
I used this product religiously for years, but the company suddenly switched the formula without warning. Maybe they thought customers wouldn't notice? But the new formula is clearly different and has the consistency of oily paste and no longer lathers. It gets worse: my cheeks that have been clear for years have been breaking out like crazy from the new formula and I know it's the product that's causing it since I haven't changed anything else about my routine in the past weeks. I'm really disappointed. I have a picture of the ingredients of the old formula and will only buy the ones that have that on them. Otherwise, never purchasing Clean and Clear products again.
Nickname: 
Jane
Location: 
Seattle
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, CLEAN & CLEAR, Consumer Service 3 weeks 1 day ago
Thank you for letting us know what happened after using this reformulated cleanser, Jane. We wouldn't expect anyone to go through what you described, so we want to make sure our safety team hears about this. We'd appreciate it if you could take a moment to give us a call at 1-877-754-6411, Monday through Friday, between 9am and 7pm EST. Thank you so much!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
1 month 6 days ago

New formula is TERRIBLE!

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: Daily Pimple prevention
Age: 55-65
State: Florida
SkinType: Normal/Combination
Review Text: 
I used this product for YEARS, then they changed the formula. Now it won't lather, won't rinse off, makes my face feel slimey, and I started breaking out. I will NEVER but this again!
Nickname: 
Suzy57
Location: 
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Clean & Clear, Consumer Care 1 month 5 days ago
Thanks for letting us know about this, Suzy57! We'd like to learn more about what happened. Please give us a call at 1-877-754-6411, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
1 month 1 week ago

NEW FORMULA IS HORRIBLE

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: Daily Pimple prevention
Age: 18-24
State: Ohio
SkinType: Normal/Combination
Review Text: 
This product was my absolute holy grail of face washes. I ran out and bought a new one and realized that Clean and Clear decided to change the formula without notice. If you read closely the new packaging says "10% benzoyl peroxide acne treatment" now instead of "10% benzoyl peroxide acne medication" like it does in this now outdated picture. I am so upset about this. The new formula burns my skin terribly. PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA!!!!!!!!
Nickname: 
Hannah D.
Location: 
Cleveland
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, CLEAN & CLEAR®, Customer Care 1 month 1 week ago
Thank you for your review, Hannah. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product and would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened since this is not typical. Please give us a call at 1-877-754-641, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
1 month 3 weeks ago

Awful

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: Daily Pimple prevention
Age: 13-17
State: Maine
SkinType: Sensitive
Review Text: 
Have used this product 3 times now, once a day. On the third day after I used it, my skin was burning and wouldn't stop peeling. Overall just an awful product, DO NOT BUY!
Nickname: 
Girniy43
Location: 
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, Clean & Clear, Consumer Care 1 month 3 weeks ago
Thanks for your review, Girniy43. We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our Clean & Clear product. We understand your frustration and this is not something we would expect to happen. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-877-754-6411 Monday-Friday 9AM-7PM ET. We're looking forward to hearing from you.
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
2 months 2 weeks ago

BRING BACK THE OLD FORMULA

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: The Max strength stuff
Age: 18-24
State: Maryland
SkinType: Normal/Combination
Review Text: 
I have been using this product for about 7 years. I used it everyday and it kept my skin acne free and I had no complaints. The new formula is terrible. It leaves my skin so red and it feels like its burning. Bring back the old formula please.
Nickname: 
Location: 
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, CLEAN & CLEAR®, Customer Care 2 months 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear about your experience with this product and would like to speak with you to learn more about what happened since this is not typical. Please give us a call at 1-877-754-641, Monday through Friday, 9AM to 7PM ET. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
2 months 4 weeks ago

Get this product!

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: The Max strength stuff
Age: 13-17
State: New Jersey
SkinType: Oily
Review Text: 
I started to get pimples at 13 and it was really hard for me. I started to try the bargain brands but nothing was working. Then I tried proactiv. It worked ok but I knew there could be better, also it was really expensive. That's when I found clean and clear. This product cleared my skin within the next few days and was a life saver. I am so glad I found this product!!!
Nickname: 
Lbakes03
Location: 
Report: 
Rating: 
1 2 3 4 5
Submission Date: 
3 months 1 week ago

Awesome Acne Control

Review Questions: 
SkinCare: The Max strength stuff
Age: 25-34
State: South Dakota
SkinType: Normal/Combination
Review Text: 
I developed acne in college. I started on the Proactiv 3 step regimen, that I had followed religiously and had been on that for about 6 years. Recently I had started to break out more often, and had the deeper pimples that are hard to get rid of. I was tired of paying for the Proactiv, and it not working. I researched online for acne products that could be effective. I came across a review on this product and decided to give it a try. It is definitely not expensive by any means, but this product has a great result. I started using this product 2 weeks ago; I use it 2 times a day along with the Clean and Clear sensitive skin salicylic acid toner, and the Clean and Clear oil-free salicylic moisturizer. I use the Persa-gel 10 medication only on spots as needed. I love the feeling of my skin after I cleanse, it just feels so clean, and I love the tingly feeling, it's refreshing. This product has a higher concentration of benzoyl peroxide, and that is what I needed. My skin has almost completely cleared up, and I have not had any new acne breakouts! I thought my skin would get dry from using the combination of the products, but that is not so. My skin is super soft and smooth from using the combination of the 3 products. This product is definitely worth the try! I also bought the Deep Action Shower Mask and have used that 2 times; it is wonderful.
Nickname: 
Kayla24
Location: 
Harrisburg
Client Responses: 
Response from Johnson and Johnson, CLEAN & CLEAR, Consumer Service 3 months 1 week ago
Hey Kayla24! Welcome to the Clean & Clear family! We're so glad to hear that you found a variety of products that make your skin look and feel great. Since you mentioned you have a tingling feeling after using our products, we just wanted to check in with you and see how things are going. Please give us a call at 1-877-754-6411 Monday through Friday between 9am and 7pm ET. Thanks so much! We can't wait to chat.
Report: